Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Results: Adobe CS6

The Core i7-4770K Review: Haswell Is Faster; Desktop Enthusiasts Yawn
By

We use two distinct Photoshop benchmarks, one of which fully taxes each processor’s x86 cores using well-threaded filters, and another that is OpenCL-optimized to leverage graphics resources. Don’t compare the black and red bars above—they’re only together to save space (and your scrolling finger).

Beginning with the CPU-only benchmark, according to which this chart is ordered, Intel’s Core i7-4770K slots in behind the Core i7-3930K and just ahead of the FX-8350. Though, the Core i7-3770K and -2700K are within two seconds of AMD’s flagship. In comparison, the company’s fastest A10-5800K trails far behind.

Calling this the OpenCL version of our benchmark is a little disingenuous, since we already ran our benchmarks based on each processor's on-die graphics engine using this same workload. Here, all platforms are accompanied by Nvidia’s GeForce GTX Titan, so the differences are wholly attributable to CPU interaction.

Now we see that the Core i7-4770K, -3770K, and 2700K take the top three spots, followed by Sandy Bridge-E. Perhaps it’s a utilization issue, but the FX-8350 and A10-5800K simply do not pair as well to a Titan in this test as Intel’s newer desktop architectures.

Our Premiere Pro CS6 benchmark is likewise optimized to take advantage of as many cores as we throw at it, and that’s why the almost 17-month-old Core i7-3930K maintains its first-place position. Yes, this is a $570 CPU, but there’s a reason we gave it our highest honor in Intel Core i7-3930K And Core i7-3820: Sandy Bridge-E, Cheaper.

Meanwhile, Core i7-4770K is only about 5% faster than Core i7-3770K. Hardly a reason to upgrade, taken on its own.

A first-place finish for Intel’s Core i7-4770K only puts it about six percent in front of its predecessor. Meanwhile, the Core i7-3930K we’d expect to be out front in a threaded title falls to third place. Consistently, this application demonstrates lower performance on platforms with higher thread counts if memory capacity doesn’t increase concurrently. Our 16 GB memory kit remains constant, helping explain why Sandy Bridge-E and AMD’s FX-8350 drop in the standings.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 410 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 54 Hide
    016ive , June 1, 2013 7:41 AM
    Intel made the Sandy bridge because of the phenom X6, without competition from AMD Intel will make small improvements every generation to make more money :( 
  • 49 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    Dissapointing, not worth it to upgrade over sandy or ivy bridge.
  • 44 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    And they overclock so low.
Other Comments
  • 49 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    Dissapointing, not worth it to upgrade over sandy or ivy bridge.
  • 44 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    And they overclock so low.
  • 3 Hide
    Danny N , June 1, 2013 7:16 AM
    Biggest question is if its worth upgrading my cpu i5 750 4.0ghz to Haswell or my gfx card ati 5870 to nvidia 7xx, my main pc use is for Maya, After FX and some fps gaming. Any input would be appriciated cause I'm leaning towards a cpu upgrade atm.
  • 15 Hide
    bergami , June 1, 2013 7:29 AM
    I want to know more about Iris
  • 20 Hide
    envy14tpe , June 1, 2013 7:34 AM
    Seriously. What did people expect? Of course it's better but nothing out of the ordinary for Intel.
  • 5 Hide
    enewmen , June 1, 2013 7:35 AM
    For me it's not about the 10% gain over SB. It's more like a huge gain over a C2Q, floating point performance over SB (should matter later), and lower watts. I hope THG can expand the Power Consumption and Media Encoding later - check the Watts idle more and fast quick-sync media encoding quality loss. My 2 cents..

    EDIT:
    other sites have reported much lower watts idle, so a lot doesn't make sense or the 4770k has a very slow throttle.
    http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/cpu/56005-intel-core-i7-4770k-22nm-haswell/?page=15
    http://www.techspot.com/review/679-intel-haswell-core-i7-4770k/page13.html
  • 29 Hide
    envy14tpe , June 1, 2013 7:35 AM
    thiemo56Dissapointing, not worth it to upgrade over sandy or ivy bridge.

    Of course not. No one should upgrade from Sandy or Ivy to this, unless you are the 1%.
  • 54 Hide
    016ive , June 1, 2013 7:41 AM
    Intel made the Sandy bridge because of the phenom X6, without competition from AMD Intel will make small improvements every generation to make more money :( 
  • 12 Hide
    sl6 , June 1, 2013 7:46 AM
    I was looking to make a new system based around this. Looks like Ivy-E will be more promising for the FPS.
  • -4 Hide
    tomfreak , June 1, 2013 7:50 AM
    Still dont get it, can we still OC the lock CPU via BCLK?
  • 26 Hide
    anort3 , June 1, 2013 7:51 AM
    Well crap. And early overclocking looked so good.
  • 3 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , June 1, 2013 7:53 AM
    1.4770K sucks harder than the preview showed it to be.

    2. Another thing i noticed, the FX8350 was a big total energy hog. That is one point AMD fanbois dont talk.

    3. Chris , no specialized AVX2 softwares ? No AVX enabled Handbrake in tests ?
    4. Would have liked to see some -/AVX2 compiled software in here. Maybe left for another "compiler tuning on Haswell piece" ?
  • 16 Hide
    DAsianFatass , June 1, 2013 7:54 AM
    016iveIntel made the Sandy bridge because of the phenome X6, without competition from AMD Intel will make small improvements every generations to make more money

    Yeah, I agree with ya. Without competition there is no innovation. As for intel, "I am disappoint"
  • 14 Hide
    unknown9122 , June 1, 2013 7:56 AM
    I still don't get why intel went with a new socket if they consider the desktop to be "dying"... I think this is AMDs chance to shine
  • 6 Hide
    thasan1 , June 1, 2013 7:56 AM
    is it me or the most exiting news in this review powerPC thing and im not even from US.......
  • 8 Hide
    Icecweam7 , June 1, 2013 8:04 AM
    Is Intel changing its ways to now slownevate the industry? What is Intel's R&D doing? Are they too busy counting their bonuses, stocks, cigars, wine, tee time golf, and vacation trips? *Looks skyward with palm to the face and many yawns
Display more comments