Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Setup And Benchmarks

GeForce GTX 650 Ti Review: Nvidia's Last Graphics Card For 2012
By , Igor Wallossek

Nvidia's GeForce GTX 650 Ti can't be expected to deliver ample performance beyond 1920x1080, and cards in this class aren't fast enough to accelerate the highest detail settings with anti-aliasing cranked up. So, we're running today's tests at high quality settings without anti-aliasing, and then again again with the feature turned on. In many cases, we're forced to drop the quality preset in order to realize playable frame rates with anti-aliasing turned on.

We're including Nvidia's GeForce GTX 650 and 660 to evaluate the performance of Kepler-based cards on either side of the GTX 650 Ti in the company's line-up. We're also testing the GeForce GTX 460 192-bit, factoring in the capabilities of a previous-generation card. As a point of reference, our GeForce GTX 460 is very similar to a GeForce GTX 560 SE, in case you have one of those sitting around. A GeForce GTX 560 is in there, too, to represent the $170 card you could have purchased before Kepler-based boards started invading the same space.

AMD's Radeon HD 7770 stands in as the company's low-end contender. The Radeon HD 6850 and 6870 are previous-gen boards selling between $150 and $170. They're still available, and therefore still relevant to our analysis of which card to buy.

Finally, AMD recently introduced a 1 GB Radeon HD 7850, which sells for about $180. We've seen the card as low as $165 without rebates, though, so we're inclined to include it as potent competition in the same price range.

Test System
CPU
Intel Core i7-3960X (Sandy Bridge-E), 3.3 GHz, Six Cores, LGA 2011, 15 MB Shared L3 Cache, Hyper-Threading enabled, Overclocked to 4.2 GHz
Motherboard
ASRock X79 Extreme9 (LGA 2011) Chipset: Intel X79 Express
Networking
On-Board Gigabit LAN controller
Memory
Corsair Vengeance LP PC3-16000, 4 x 4 GB, 1600 MT/s, CL 8-8-8-24-2T
Graphics
Zotac GeForce GTX 650 Ti AMP! Edition
1033 MHz GPU, 2 GB GDDR5 at 1550 MHz

Gigabyte GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC
1033 MHz GPU, 2 GB GDDR5 at 1350 MHz

Reference GeForce GTX 650 Ti
925 MHz GPU, 1 GB GDDR5 at 1350 MHz

Reference GeForce GTX 660
980/1033 MHz Base/Boost GPU, 2 GB GDDR5 at 1502 MHz

MSI GeForce GTX 560
810 MHz GPU, 2 GB GDDR5 at 1002 MHz

Zotac GeForce GTX 460 192-bit
675 MHz GPU, 768 MB GDDR5 at 900 MHz

Gigabyte GeForce GTX 650
1111 MHz GPU, 2 GB GDDR5 at 1250 MHz

EVGA R7850 Core Edition, Radeon HD 7850 1GB
860 MHz GPU, 1 GB GDDR5 at 1200 MHz

Reference Radeon HD 6870
900 MHz GPU, 1 GB GDDR5 at 1050 MHz

Reference Radeon HD 6850
775 MHz GPU, 1 GB GDDR5 at 1000 MHz

Reference Radeon HD 7770
1000 MHz GPU, 1 GB GDDR5 at 1125 MHz

All overclocked cards reduced to reference specification for testing
Hard Drive
Samsung 470-Series 256 GB (SSD)
Power
ePower EP-1200E10-T2 1200 W
ATX12V, EPS12V
Software and Drivers
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 7 x64, Service Pack 1
DirectX
DirectX 11
Graphics Drivers
Nvidia: 306.38 beta
AMD: Catalyst 12.9 Beta
Benchmarks
Battlefield 3
Campaign Mode, "Operation Swordfish" 60-second Fraps
Crysis 2
DirectX 11, 60 second Fraps
Batman: Arkham City
Version 1.0.0.0, Built-in DirectX 11 Benchmark
Metro 2033Full Game, Built-In Benchmark, "Frontline" Scene
DiRT Showdown
Version 1.0.0.0, DirectX 11 Benchmark
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Update 1.4.27, THG Benchmarks save, 25-second Fraps
Max Payne 3
Version 1.0.0.4.7, Chapter 3, save 16, 65-second Fraps
World Of Warcraft
DX 11, Elwynn Forest area, 30-second Fraps
Display all 150 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 41 Hide
    jimbaladin , October 9, 2012 1:25 PM
    40% slower than the 7850 while costing 10-20% less, and 10% faster than the 7770 while costing 25% more.

    That looks like a fail to me, and don't even get me started on how late this is.
  • 30 Hide
    cknobman , October 9, 2012 2:29 PM
    AnandTech has already released an article covering AMD officially dropping the price of the 1GB 7850 to $169 for the fall season

    This means we will easily see $150 or less after rebates and officially makes this Nvidia 650ti product a total fail. I see no reason to purchase this.
  • 28 Hide
    outlw6669 , October 9, 2012 1:34 PM
    nVidia, you really need to stop gimping your bandwidth!
    Seriously, such a waste of silicon that could perform quite a bit better if you just gave it a little more breathing room....
Other Comments
  • 5 Hide
    yialanliu , October 9, 2012 1:24 PM
    Awesome, finally something that mainstream budget users can afford from Nvidia, been waiting for ages!
  • 41 Hide
    jimbaladin , October 9, 2012 1:25 PM
    40% slower than the 7850 while costing 10-20% less, and 10% faster than the 7770 while costing 25% more.

    That looks like a fail to me, and don't even get me started on how late this is.
  • 11 Hide
    unionoob , October 9, 2012 1:26 PM
    Would be awesome if you would include HD 5770 in benchmarks vs this one too, sure its old card but would love to see how powerfull is that one compered to this one.
  • 28 Hide
    outlw6669 , October 9, 2012 1:34 PM
    nVidia, you really need to stop gimping your bandwidth!
    Seriously, such a waste of silicon that could perform quite a bit better if you just gave it a little more breathing room....
  • 20 Hide
    tomfreak , October 9, 2012 1:37 PM
    I assume the place where it cripple the 650TI is the 16ROP as well as the 128bit bus. But the 16ROP is probably the biggest bottleneck of the card, this is the only place where u cant be fix by any OCing at all.

    With 128bit bus, they could have just leave the memory speed @ 6GHz. 5400 is pretty much ruin the thing.

    Edit: btw, this is probably one of the most useful review I see for a while. 6870/6850/560/460/7770 are all there, with benchmark of AA on and off. thumbs up for u author!
  • 18 Hide
    Wisecracker , October 9, 2012 1:45 PM

    jimbaladin40% slower than the 7850 while costing 10-20% less, and 10% faster than the 7770 while costing 25% more.That looks like a fail to me, and don't even get me started on how late this is.


    The HD7850 and GTX 650ti are essentially the same price on New Egg.





  • 19 Hide
    proffet , October 9, 2012 1:49 PM
    another PhysX card I suppose..
    slightly too weak for a dedicated in my book.
    I said my book as in my opinion.
  • 19 Hide
    Iastfan112 , October 9, 2012 1:54 PM
    Mike-THWhy would you not include the GTX 660 Ti in the tests? After all, the 650 Ti and 660 Ti should be the options of the day for upgrades - why not compare them?


    Because comparing cards in the ~150 dollar range to a card thats +280 dollars is asinine?
  • 30 Hide
    cknobman , October 9, 2012 2:29 PM
    AnandTech has already released an article covering AMD officially dropping the price of the 1GB 7850 to $169 for the fall season

    This means we will easily see $150 or less after rebates and officially makes this Nvidia 650ti product a total fail. I see no reason to purchase this.
  • 5 Hide
    digiex , October 9, 2012 2:37 PM
    Can the power plane of the of the diminutive 5.75" x 4" PCB can support the 100W of power? Could it result in PCB delamination over time?
  • -4 Hide
    Mike-TH , October 9, 2012 2:37 PM
    Quote:
    Iastfan112Because comparing cards in the ~150 dollar range to a card thats +280 dollars is asinine?



    Not if you seriously would like to know what the performance difference was. Look at the current Video Card ratings - they cover from very low to extreme high - because people would like to know.

    So - Right now, I'm looking at buying a $300 660 Ti, but if the 650 Ti can come within 20% of the performance, I might not drop the extra cash on it. But without trying to find a common benchmark between the two, there's no way to tell. Looks like I get to go benchmark hunting.
  • 5 Hide
    tomfreak , October 9, 2012 2:46 PM
    further read on several reviews said that most if not all of 650ti use 6GHz hynix RAM. So why are they clocking it @ 5400? 128bit + 6Ghz is not going to hurt 660.

    Nvidia are doing stupid thing here :/ 
  • 1 Hide
    UltimateDeep , October 9, 2012 2:50 PM
    How about EVGA's Super Superclocked Impersonation of the 650Ti? I really want Tom's Hardware to take a look at that one.
  • -2 Hide
    Mike-TH , October 9, 2012 2:50 PM
    Found a comparative benchmark between 650ti and 660ti - in the GPGPU benchmarks. The games tests all have different settings between the 650ti and 660ti reviews, so they aren't a true comparison.

    I used this as the 660ti review to compare benchmarks against for the games : http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-660-ti-benchmark-review,3279.html
  • 5 Hide
    luciferano , October 9, 2012 2:54 PM
    Mike-THNot if you seriously would like to know what the performance difference was. Look at the current Video Card ratings - they cover from very low to extreme high - because people would like to know.So - Right now, I'm looking at buying a $300 660 Ti, but if the 650 Ti can come within 20% of the performance, I might not drop the extra cash on it. But without trying to find a common benchmark between the two, there's no way to tell. Looks like I get to go benchmark hunting.


    Mike-THFound a comparative benchmark between 650ti and 660ti - in the GPGPU benchmarks. The games tests all have different settings between the 650ti and 660ti reviews, so they aren't a true comparison. I used this as the 660ti review to compare benchmarks against for the games : http://www.tomshardware.com/review [...] ,3279.html


    The 660 non-Ti has a roughly 50% lead on average over the 650 Ti. This 650 Ti obviously doesn't come anywhere near the 660 Ti. You shouldn't need the 660 Ti in this to know that.
  • 1 Hide
    jabliese , October 9, 2012 3:05 PM
    Why is the Max TDP on this 110W? Makes no sense, with power use being identical to a 650. Might these be made w/o an extra power connector?
  • -2 Hide
    greghome , October 9, 2012 3:06 PM
    Hopefully, the GT700s will be based off more than 2 GPUs....... :/ 
    so they won't be as late as this gen because they had to collect enough bad chips
  • 0 Hide
    luciferano , October 9, 2012 3:12 PM
    jablieseWhy is the Max TDP on this 110W? Makes no sense, with power use being identical to a 650. Might these be made w/o an extra power connector?


    Outside of gaming, such as some stress tests, they might be able to reach their TDP.
  • 1 Hide
    luciferano , October 9, 2012 3:14 PM
    BigMack70This. Nailed it. Nothing more needs to be said.


    Some of the highly factory overclocked 7770s would be considerably faster than this 650 Ti while still being cheaper ;) 
Display more comments