Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Conclusion

In Theory: How Does Lynnfield's On-Die PCI Express Affect Gaming?
By

There’s a ton of benchmark data here, from which we’re able to draw a number of different conclusions. But first, let’s revisit the questions posed in the introduction:

What’s this new design element going to mean to gamers? Will Core i5 handicap you right out of the gate with multi-card configurations? Remember, most P55-based platforms will support CrossFire and SLI. So, are eight lanes per card enough? How will P55 compare to X58, P45, and 790GX?

  1. How does incorporating 16 lanes of PCI Express 2.0 onto the Lynnfield die affect performance? The answer depends on how many graphics cards you’re using, but is mostly academic with this generation of GPUs. The more pressing concern should be finding a Core i5 that’s fast enough to actually let modern graphics cards stretch their proverbial legs. It all goes back to the concept of building balanced PCs. If you’re going to spend close to a grand on 3D horsepower, you’ll need a heavily-overclocked processor in order to keep pace. With a single Radeon HD 4870 X2, we saw some theoretical advantages to serving all 16 lanes through an on-die controller versus using X58.
  2. Will Core i5 handicap you right out of the gate with multi-card configurations? The aforementioned gains evaporated in real-world games, where Core i7’s trended slightly higher, perhaps as a result of Hyper-Threading or its additional memory channel. With two cards installed, Core i5 simply didn’t gain as much performance as Core i7 at high resolutions. It wasn’t, however, noticeably handicapped, and was still able to deliver more performance than Core 2 Quad (also limited to a pair of x8 connections via P45).
  3. Are eight lanes per card enough? Almost certainly, yes…in this story. There is a perceivable performance ding associated with halving PCI Express bandwidth when two cards are installed. However, if you flip over to our Core i5 and Core i7 gaming analysis, which tests these two new chips with Turbo Boost turned on, you'll see that in most cases, the higher clocks measured there are able to make up some of the losses at low resolutions, while high-res tests demonstrate very close performance between the mainstream P55 platform and higher-end X58-based configurations.
  4. How will P55 compare to X58, P45, and 790GX? Naturally, X58 has an advantage in that it’s able to serve up twin x16 links and communicate with the CPU across a 25 GB/s+ QPI interconnect. P55, P45, and 790GX all force you to split connectivity up unto smaller links if you run multiple graphics cards, though. Integrating that functionality into the processor die looks to be a good thing for Core i5, especially given the motherboard/processor prices we're expecting immediately after launch.

Of course, this story doesn’t wrap up quite that simply. There’s still the matter of cost. For the price of a Core 2 Quad Q9550 at 2.83 GHz, you could actually buy a Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition at 3.2 GHz. The Core i5-750 is launching at $199, though, on motherboards priced as low as $100 in many cases. You're crazy if you think this won't cause a major shakeup in pricing, both for AMD and Intel, which will only be measurable after the platform proliferates post-launch.

For the time being, we're comfortable making the following observations:

Clock for clock, Core i5 is going to give you better gaming performance than Core 2 Quad. Because Core i5-750 is launching below the price of Core 2 Quad Q9550, this makes the story even sweeter. Core i7 for LGA 1366 does have an advantage in its QPI link to the X58 chipset, which offers high-end graphics cards full x16 PCI Express links. However, current-generation GPUs still deliver compelling performance over the x8 links enabled through P55, P45, and 790GX running in CrossFire mode. Finally, for games not optimized to take advantage of Core i5's four cores, we expect Lynnfield's Turbo Boost implementation to have a bigger impact on gaming performance than Bloomfield's.

As an aside, the benchmarks we saw in the previous pages make it painfully clear that if you want to run multi-card configurations with high-end graphics boards, be darned sure you have the platform to back them up. In many cases, that'll mean moderate CPU overclocking. Fortunately, we have something for you there, as well...

Display all 33 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 11 Hide
    megabuster , September 8, 2009 4:29 AM
    AMD better have something up its sleeves or it's instakill.
Other Comments
  • 11 Hide
    megabuster , September 8, 2009 4:29 AM
    AMD better have something up its sleeves or it's instakill.
  • -1 Hide
    rambo117 , September 8, 2009 6:20 AM
    AMD... your loosing your game...
  • 9 Hide
    dirtmountain , September 8, 2009 6:39 AM
    A PhenomII x4 920? ouch
  • 1 Hide
    radnor , September 8, 2009 8:50 AM
    I know you used a 2.8Ghz Deneb for Clock-per-clock comparisons. MAkes sense. But a 2.8 Ghz Deneb is something really no unlocked. Ussually unlock versions go 3.5Ghz on stock VID, non BE PArts can reach 3.3Ghz safely.

    A 2.8 Deneb/Lynnfield/Bloomfield have completely diferent prices. You are comparing a R6 vs a R1. I7 is the Busa trouting everybody else. Of course the prices are very diferent.
  • 0 Hide
    cangelini , September 8, 2009 9:02 AM
    Gents, if you want to see the non-academic comparisons, I have the 965 BE compared in two other pieces for more real-world comparisons!
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/intel-core-i5,2410.html
    and
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/core-i5-gaming,2403.html
    Thanks for the feedback notes!
  • 3 Hide
    bounty , September 8, 2009 4:34 PM
    "Will Core i5 handicap you right out of the gate with multi-card configurations? The aforementioned gains evaporated in real-world games, where Core i7’s trended slightly higher, perhaps as a result of Hyper-Threading or its additional memory channel"

    Well you answered will i5 handicap you without hyperthreading, x8 by x8 and dual channel. It will by 5-10% If you wanted to narrow it down to memory channels, hyperthreading or the x8 by x8 you could have pice the game with the biggest spread and enabled each of those options selectively. Would have been kinda interesting to see which had the biggest impact.
  • -2 Hide
    Shnur , September 8, 2009 5:21 PM
    Great article! But then again... I don't see why a 955 wasn't used in this scenario... since the 920 is thing that nobody uses. Already that we know that i7 is superior to AMD flagship in multi-GPU configurations you're taking a crappy AMD CPU, buying a 790GX doesn't mean you're going to cut on the chip... and you're talking about who's performing better in 8x lanes... from my point of view it's a bad comparison, and there should have been a chip that'll be actually able to take a difference between 1 card and two and the from 16x and 8x.
    And thanks for the other linked reviews, but I'm not talking about comparing the chips themselves, I'm trying to figure out is 8x still good enough or I need to pay more for 16x?
  • 5 Hide
    cangelini , September 8, 2009 5:36 PM
    Shunr,
    Thanks much for the feedback--again, this wasn't meant to be about the CPUs, but the PCI Express links. If you want to know about the processors themselves at retail clocks, check out the gaming story, which does reflect x16/x16 and x8/x8 in the LGA 1366 and LGA 1156 configs.
    Hope that helps!
    Chris
  • 2 Hide
    Shadow703793 , September 8, 2009 8:06 PM
    megabusterAMD better have something up its sleeves or it's instakill.

    lol! do you mean instagib?

    Joking aside, AMD needs something to counter this.
  • 4 Hide
    Alkapwn , September 8, 2009 9:14 PM
    There may be a slight flaw to your testing methodology on the i7 vs i5. You used an i7 975 against the i5 750. You clocked the CPUs to the same, 2.8 Ghz, but made no mention of the uncore speed. Uncore clock of the i7 975 runs @ 2.66 Ghz, whereas the i5 750 runs @ 2.16 Ghz. Since the PCI controller on the i5 is part of the uncore, answering the question "How Does Lynnfield's On-Die PCI Express Affect Gaming" against the i7 975 will only show skewed, or dare I say flawed, results.

    If you're going to make an *apples to apples* comparison, the i7 920 would have been a better choice, as its uncore is clocked the same as the i5, and both run their cores at the same stock speeds. This would have presented a level playing field in both processor speed as well as uncore speeds.

    Thank you.
  • -3 Hide
    CookYouAll , September 8, 2009 10:18 PM
    Sad, AMD losing again, again & again..
  • -1 Hide
    tkgclimb , September 8, 2009 11:10 PM
    Why did they use a 790gx platform not a 790fx, doesn't the FX have more pci-e bandwith, and does better supporting multi gpu configurations? or am I about to buy the wrong mobo.
  • 1 Hide
    rambo117 , September 8, 2009 11:21 PM
    tkgclimbWhy did they use a 790gx platform not a 790fx, doesn't the FX have more pci-e bandwith, and does better supporting multi gpu configurations? or am I about to buy the wrong mobo.

    did you read the whole article? its explained here:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/core-i5-lynnfield,2379-3.html
  • -2 Hide
    tkgclimb , September 8, 2009 11:47 PM
    rambo117did you read the whole article? its explained here: http://www.tomshardware.com/review [...] 379-3.html


    Yeah I read it, but it really doesn't make sense even though the i5 has only 16x bandwidth I don't think they should limit AMD to only 16x also.

    But good article,

    weird how the the PHenom scales so badly in crsfr still using the same amount of bandwidth as all the rest of the CPU's
  • 0 Hide
    spearhead , September 9, 2009 7:41 AM
    i dont find it strange that PHII seems to scale alot less here. PHII was clocked back to 2,8GHZ otherwise the results would have been much more even when benched vs a stock clocked i5 750. This benchmark brings out the clock advantage of the architectures. But it dousn't smell like real world preformance to me. never the less scores above 60-75 FPS are above noticeble. fewer then that would also not hurt tough since a few frames are always being prerenderd. That is why i cannot justify I7 920 any longer for anything less then a multiple solution. never the less i5 750 is going to be priced quite near the PHII 955 just a few tens more expansive, with some luck AMD considers dropping the price a bit more. Over all I5 750 is a good awnser VS the phenom 955 and 965. And while both offer there own advantages such as intels clock advantage it would not run as near its physical limits as a stock phenom II dous whe your into overclocking. But AMD on the other hand is still a bit cheaper and will bring out a 6 core istanbul based 32nm cpu somewhere next year which will work on every current decent AM3 board. core i5 still be the current winner when your aim is to overclock
  • -5 Hide
    Ciuy , September 9, 2009 8:26 AM
    so it sucks
  • -1 Hide
    suitaoli , September 9, 2009 12:08 PM
    what aboutthe Hyper threading in i7 Bloomfield benchmarks, disable or enable?
  • -2 Hide
    suitaoli , September 9, 2009 12:10 PM
    suitaoliwhat about the Hyper threading in i7 Bloomfield benchmarks, is it disable or enable?

  • -5 Hide
    Anonymous , September 9, 2009 12:22 PM
    so let me get this straight...you took two almost exactly the same architectures and ran tests where the extra bandwidth of the memory of one don't matter and where both had sufficient PCI bandwidth and you're shocked that they performed the same clock for clock? seriously? You guys are fucking geniuses!!! STOP THE FUCKING PRESSES TWO SIMILAR ARCHITECTURES PERFORM SIMILARLY should be the title of this article
Display more comments