Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

An Introduction To Qubes OS

Qubes OS: An Operating System Designed For Security
By

Alan: And that’s what I want to talk about today. Your team is working on something that gets us closer to perfect isolation, Qubes OS. How are you doing something different than what Microsoft, Apple, and Google have failed to do with their browsers?

Joanna: First of all, we try to keep the amount of trusted code (so, the code that enforces the isolation in our system) to an absolute minimum. To do this we use a thin, bare-metal hypervisor (Xen) to run many instances of virtual machines, or domains, separated from each other. But having a thin hypervisor (or a microkernel) is only part of the story.

Some people might argue that by using virtualization we're not really solving any problem—after all, a virtualized, insecure OS is still an insecure OS. Virtualization, they would argue, only introduces another layer of complexity, perhaps only making things worse!

Indeed, it is true that the mere fact we’re using virtualization (another buzzword!) doesn't automatically bring more security. But virtualization provides us with something else that is very useful: compatibility. It allows us to redesign the whole system completely, decompose the trusted computing base, e.g. by moving the networking drivers and stacks to an untrusted domain, moving USB drivers and stacks to another untrusted domain, redesign GUI multiplexing, etc., and at the same time still be able to run all the applications that have been created for a "normal" OS, and which have no idea that networking stacks are now in some separated domain. They don't need to know this, because they still run inside a normal OS, which is virtualized, and special front-end drivers we provide for this OS know where to find the networking services in our redesigned system.

Without virtualization, we would need to either write all of the applications and drivers from scratch (this is what some academic projects focused on microkernels attempt to do), or, at the very least, rebuild each application by relinking it with custom libraries (but we would still need to rewrite most of the drivers, which is hard to imagine in practice for anybody except Microsoft to do).

So, in short, virtualization doesn't bring any security advantage by itself, but it allows for a brave redesign of the OS and yet to reuse all the applications and drivers in this radically-changed design. And this is exactly what we do in Qubes.

Display all 37 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , August 30, 2011 4:52 AM
    Interesting.
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , August 30, 2011 5:23 AM
    OpenBSD: An Operating System Designed For Security
  • 2 Hide
    LORD_ORION , August 30, 2011 5:34 AM
    iam2thecrowei wont use it, because i dont really understand half of what is written in the article, they lost me at Bare Metal Hypervisor, but what the hell is with the seemingly random picture of the woman with the scarfe around her neck?


    The "bare metal hypervisor" is Xen. In a nutshell, it runs directly on the hardware of the server machine, and that is all it does (you install Xen, and it consumes the whole drive) You then install your operating systems virtually ontop of Xen. To access your operating system, you login to it from another machine using special Xen client software.

    As Xen is what runs the amazon elastic cloud, there is need for high security OSes like Qubes for enterprise business applications.
  • -2 Hide
    FloKid , August 30, 2011 6:13 AM
    Life always finds a way. I just wonder if you put a function for a USB and a function for an ethernet port in the same code, won't that start two kernels even if they are isolated and basically give you access to both in the same code? I might not be getting something, but I could see the same program having a hard time accessing all of the other kernels, since they are not in the same process. Could be good I guess, but I can see sorta a way around that if you have other malicious software already running hidden.
  • 3 Hide
    3-R4Z0R , August 30, 2011 6:24 AM
    So this is essentially the same thing as Minix, only that it's been reinventing Minix again (just like about 20 other projects during the last 15 years that have never come as far as EU funded Minix which is even partially POSIX compatible)?
  • 6 Hide
    Anonymous , August 30, 2011 8:18 AM
    i`d hit
  • 4 Hide
    nevertell , August 30, 2011 8:44 AM
    So what they are doing is sandboxing stuff into partitions using Xen ? WHY?
    I am more interested how are they making the transition between the domains, because if they're using IOMMU to have a discrete videocard available to the domains, how are they sharing it between the domains ?

    Tom's, you could make an article about virtualizing Windows 7 on top of xen with a normal Ubuntu install in dom0 and have a discreet videocard for windows 7 and use the integrated one for ubuntu/linux, like a sandy bridge igpu and some nvidia/radeon. If you prove that the transition between the domains is fast and easy, this would be AWESOME for regular linux users, as I hate to reboot to play some games. But that way, I could just switch between the domains, at any given time. I mean, RAM is cheap.

  • -6 Hide
    killerclick , August 30, 2011 9:50 AM
    Wow, it's a girl. Let's have an article about her, it'll draw the horny teenager crowd!
  • -5 Hide
    amigafan , August 30, 2011 10:58 AM
    Lol there would be more comments on this particular article but veterans know they'd quickly get decimated with thumbs downs ;) 

    I won't even bother with mentioning "kitchen" in any context :D 
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , August 30, 2011 1:07 PM
    Joanna arrogant as usual, smart as always.
  • 0 Hide
    LORD_ORION , August 30, 2011 1:49 PM
    Go here, this will probably explain better than the article.

    http://qubes-os.org/Screenshots.html
  • -2 Hide
    DSpider , August 30, 2011 2:10 PM
    You know, most viruses come from the internet. You could simply install VirtualBox and download Slitaz (a very small Linux LiveCD distribution - around 30 MB), and use that for your basic browser needs, completely separate from your main OS.

    As long as you don't set up shared folders and only share the clipboard, you should be ok.
  • -3 Hide
    alitenar , August 30, 2011 4:58 PM
    Why so much security! The anti virus companies need to "make a living" too!
  • 0 Hide
    phate , August 30, 2011 6:38 PM
    OpenBSD, SELinux, ... this sounds like a vaporware puff piece.

    The NSA has been using(and actually wrote much of) SELinux for years, and it seems to be working out for them.
  • 0 Hide
    LORD_ORION , August 30, 2011 7:23 PM
    phateOpenBSD, SELinux, ... this sounds like a vaporware puff piece.The NSA has been using(and actually wrote much of) SELinux for years, and it seems to be working out for them.


    Except that if you follow the link you can download the beta?
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , August 30, 2011 7:57 PM
    She doesn't say much about microkernels. I would like to know what she thinks about this blog post about OKL4 : http://www.ok-labs.com/blog/entry/microkernels-vs-hypervisors/

    By the way, the same people have created a version of L4 that, as I understand it, is formally verified to function exactly as specified, http://www.nicta.com.au/media/previous_releases3/2009_media_releases/world-first_research_breakthrough_promises_safety-critical_software_of_unprecedented_reliability . This should surely help to improve stability and security.
  • 1 Hide
    JackBlack07 , August 30, 2011 9:16 PM
    All there doing here is taking the same technology Sun Microsystems used to create Zones and repackaged it with Xen overhead. Look up Solaris 10 Trusted Extenstions .. same stuff..
  • 5 Hide
    philologos , August 30, 2011 10:35 PM
    Much better than Pubes OS!
  • 5 Hide
    calinkula , August 30, 2011 11:13 PM
    This is the same woman who said she had a 100% undetectable virus a few years back. She was challenged at the Black Hat conference that year and wouldn't present it without a large upfront payment.

    Do people still take her seriously?
Display more comments