Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Results: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 And Crysis

System Builder Marathon, December 2010: $500 PC
By

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 offers impressive visuals on modest graphics hardware, and even the stock $400 PC from September had no problem playing at 1080p resolution and the highest detail levels. The current system breezes through all resolutions with a glaringly obvious CPU limitation.

While many folks would find the former Radeon HD 5670 satisfactory, competitive gamers should appreciate the December rig’s ability to maintain 60+ frames per second, even with the added demands of 4x AA.

Crysis

Crysis is more brutal, limiting the former PC to 720p at High details. Sporting far more powerful graphics hardware, the December box is playable at all resolutions, appearing CPU-limited below 1080p.

Note the 10% framerate increase achieved just by narrowing the aspect ratio from 16:9 (1280x720) to 5:4 (1280x1024). This could be of particular interest for a gamer experiencing borderline playability caused by a CPU limitation.

The overclocked Radeon HD 5770 used in the past could not muster playable performance at 1280x1024, so it’s no surprise the $400 rig’s HD 5670 was brought to it’s knees at Very High details.

Our stock December $500 gaming rig also struggles. But once it's overclocked, the machine surpasses our framerate requirements for playable performance at both lower resolutions. Average framerates even appear a bit CPU-limited. But the bottleneck quickly shifts to the GPU, surpassing the machine’s capabilities at 1680x1050 and above.

Display all 111 comments.
  • 5 Hide
    LuckyDucky7 , December 17, 2010 4:25 AM
    And this is really the only PC build that will stay relevant come January- it will remain the only budget platform that can be overclocked, after all.

    Incidentally, this would be the only PC you'd want to contemplate building right now (since the new Core i3s don't come out immediately like the i5s and i7s do- and the Pentium G8XX series doesn't allow overclocking of its platform.)
  • 5 Hide
    Tamz_msc , December 17, 2010 4:27 AM
    Ah, much better than the previous build!
  • 2 Hide
    Proximon , December 17, 2010 4:55 AM
    Great job squeezing everything into a very small budget.
  • 2 Hide
    adbat , December 17, 2010 4:59 AM
    Good build - but again it would be good to see old spec on test system page.
  • 2 Hide
    rohitbaran , December 17, 2010 4:59 AM
    That is a great combination for that budget. Balanced.
  • -1 Hide
    yyk71200 , December 17, 2010 5:04 AM
    I wouldn't be very comfortable using a 380 watt PSU for a long time for GTX 460 even if it is good quality. Perhaps, I would put in something of 450 watt or higher.
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , December 17, 2010 5:48 AM
    LuckyDucky7And this is really the only PC build that will stay relevant come January- it will remain the only budget platform that can be overclocked, after all.Incidentally, this would be the only PC you'd want to contemplate building right now (since the new Core i3s don't come out immediately like the i5s and i7s do- and the Pentium G8XX series doesn't allow overclocking of its platform.)
    So you think there's going to be a replacement platform for the $2000 PC in January? That's not going to happen for a while. Or are you suggesting the next $2000 PC should be downgraded to P67?
  • 1 Hide
    dragoon190 , December 17, 2010 6:21 AM
    I haven't been keeping up with the system marathon much, but what's the reasoning for choosing nVidia card over AMD's? Just wondering since I'm thinking about upgrading my computer soon.
  • 0 Hide
    jj463rd , December 17, 2010 6:44 AM
    A really nice build this time.However the price of the case and power supply has gone up in price over at newegg.I haven't checked the prices of the other components though.This build seems to perform quite well especially in the gaming benchmarks.Good job!
  • 0 Hide
    tstng , December 17, 2010 6:45 AM
    I would've gone with a 6850 instead of the 460. It's a tad cheaper, not at all slower if you don't start cranckin' up the tesselation, and should fit the 380W psu a lot better. But a solid build by all means.
  • 1 Hide
    tstng , December 17, 2010 6:49 AM
    I just noticed you guys used a 768mb 460. Oops. So it's a very good build, the 6850 would go over buget I guess. My bad.
  • 1 Hide
    pauldh , December 17, 2010 6:53 AM
    adbatGood build - but again it would be good to see old spec on test system page.

    Crowds it a bit IMO, but I'd gladly include the previous test settings from here on out.
    For now, here's a direct link:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-pc-build-a-pc-overclock,2739-8.html
  • 4 Hide
    pauldh , December 17, 2010 7:04 AM
    yyk71200I wouldn't be very comfortable using a 380 watt PSU for a long time for GTX 460 even if it is good quality. Perhaps, I would put in something of 450 watt or higher.

    No fears here. Keep in mind, this 380W has a higher +12V rating than many 500W units. And, the 280W peak output draw in Prime 95+Furmark is far higher than would ever be seen during normal use.

    On the down side it could limit multiple (simultaneous)upgrades such as a hexa-core CPU + additional storage drives. But the EarthWatts 380D has plenty reserve for this system as built.
  • 0 Hide
    karma831 , December 17, 2010 7:11 AM
    There are a lot of RAM kits which do include heat spreaders, have higher frequencies, lower CL, and are can be had for less than $65. Was there any particular reason for choosing that set of Mushkin's?
  • -1 Hide
    pauldh , December 17, 2010 7:18 AM
    dragoon190I haven't been keeping up with the system marathon much, but what's the reasoning for choosing nVidia card over AMD's? Just wondering since I'm thinking about upgrading my computer
    soon.

    Basically it was the best available option within budget, trumping the cheaper/less powerful Radeon HD 5770 used back in the June $550 PC: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/cpu-gpu-overclock,2659.html

    If you compare those past results to the current rig, you may notice less CPU limitations and higher framerates at low resolutions for the Radeon HD 5770, but more headroom to push higher resolutions (1080P) with the GeForce GTX 460. Both are fine choices, depending on budget and needs.
  • 0 Hide
    pauldh , December 17, 2010 7:35 AM
    karma831There are a lot of RAM kits which do include heat spreaders, have higher frequencies, lower CL, and are can be had for less than $65. Was there any particular reason for choosing that set of Mushkin's?

    Purely timing Karma. RAM has dropped significantly since we ordered our components. Ours was $65 at order time which was then the starting point for 4GB kits. Currently, this same kit is $42 on Newegg, and there are a slew of options under $50. Not bad considering prior to September a 4GB kit was $100 or more.

    Unlike Thomas, who sought performance for the $2000 build but was duped by receiving different RAM chips than expected, my choice here was purely based on the cheapest option and I hadn't noticed the Easter Egg in the photo. Like him, unfortunately, I received the same "nameless" chips with little headroom for higher frequency.
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , December 17, 2010 7:35 AM
    What about GTS 450? Is it a good choice for this CPU? As it seems that GTX460 is an overkill for lower resolutions :) 
  • 0 Hide
    pauldh , December 17, 2010 7:49 AM
    jj463rdA really nice build this time.However the price of the case and power supply has gone up in price over at newegg.I haven't checked the prices of the other components though.This build seems to perform quite well especially in the gaming benchmarks.Good job!

    Price fluctuations are bound to happen and for a bit the case was even cheaper yet. The current cost of this system is $512 on Newegg as the cheaper RAM helps balance out.
    The bargain shopper would seek substitutions; One option is the EA380D PSU for $45 and a different case. Ex: the Rosewill Blackbone (used in the $400 build) is $40. Alternate GTX 460's could save an additional $20 and get the cost well under $500.
  • 0 Hide
    dEAne , December 17, 2010 7:52 AM
    Thank you - Now I have something to compare and recommend - It helps a lot.
  • 0 Hide
    pauldh , December 17, 2010 7:59 AM
    tstngI just noticed you guys used a 768mb 460. Oops. So it's a very good build, the 6850 would go over buget I guess. My bad.

    Yes true, but more importantly the HD 6850 was not yet available when we ordered, so it wasn't even an option. Thanks to that release, there are now less expensive GTX 460's also than the lone option we had at $160.

    Moving forward, you bet I'll have my sights set on 6850 if possible. But it will depend on the budget and street prices vs the competition. It's not about brand, but rather the best/most bang for the buck.

Display more comments
React To This Article