Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Setup And Benchmarks

GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost Review: A Budget-Oriented GK106-Based Boss
By

According to Nvidia, its GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost is best-suited to native 1920x1080 displays, so that's where we'll test it. If you aspire to game across multiple monitors, we recommend saving up for a higher-end graphics card with a more potent GPU and wider memory bus.

AMD's Radeon HD 7850 is this card's primary competition. Its results will be the ones we reference most often. We're also testing the GeForce GTX 650 Ti and GeForce GTX 660 to see how the 650 Ti Boost compares to the rest of Nvidia's GK106-based boards. Finally, the older Radeon HD 6870 and GeForce GTX 560 show us how Nvidia's latest effort stands up to previous-generation sub-$200 graphics cards.

Test System
CPU
Intel Core i7-3960X (Sandy Bridge-E), 3.3 GHz/3.9 GHz Max Turbo,
Six Cores, LGA 2011, 15 MB Shared L3 Cache, Hyper-Threading enabled.
Motherboard
ASRock X79 Extreme9 (LGA 2011) Chipset: Intel X79 Express
Networking
On-Board Gigabit LAN controller
Memory
Corsair Vengeance LP PC3-16000, 4 x 4 GB, 1600 MT/s, CL 8-8-8-24-2T
Graphics
GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1 GB GDDR5
GeForce GTX 560 1 GB GDDR5
GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost 2 GB GDDR5
GeForce GTX 660 2 GB GDDR5

Radeon HD 7850 1 GB GDDR5
Radeon HD 6870 1 GB GDDR5
Radeon HD 7790 1 GB GDDR5
Radeon HD 7870 2 GB GDDR5
Hard Drive
Samsung 470-series 256 GB (SSD)
Power
ePower EP-1200E10-T2 1,200 W
ATX12V, EPS12V
Software and Drivers
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 8
DirectX
DirectX 11.1
Graphics Drivers
AMD Catalyst 13.3 Beta 2
Nvidia GeForce 314.21 Beta
Radeon HD 7790 Catalyst Beta Driver
Benchmarks
Borderlands 2
v.1.0.28.697606, Custom Benchmark, 60-second Fraps run
Crysis 3
v.1.0.0.1, Custom Benchmark, 60-second Fraps run
F1 2012
v.1.3.3.0, Included Benchmark, 60-second Fraps run
Far Cry 3
v.1.0.0.1, Custom Benchmark, 50-second Fraps run
Tomb Raider
v.1.0.722.3, Custom Benchmark, 45-second Fraps run
Display all 146 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 16 Hide
    Memnarchon , March 26, 2013 6:17 AM
    Souv_90anandtech review is out for 650 ti boost...just faster than 7790 and slower than 7850 in every games tested only except bf3 and Shogunhttp://www.anandtech.com/show/6838 [...] st-review-(wonder why tom's review is swaying more in favour of kepler everytime I see)

    Techpowerup said also that 650ti boost is faster than 7850.
    edit: hardwarecanucks / PCPerspective. A lot of sites agree with Tom's, 7850 and 650ti boost are about the same in performance.

    But the point is that is similar to 7850 while its cheaper. Now that's what I wanted to see when I was saying we need better performance for $$$. Now lets see AMD dropping its prices too so we can have a sweat war between them that profits our wallet :D .
  • 12 Hide
    Henrik Olsson , March 26, 2013 6:41 AM
    from reviews around the web the GTX 650 ti boost is trading blows with the 7850 very well. i just gotta say it took nvidia awhile to get back into the game after AMD lowerd the pricing of there cards. good to see some competion again insted of just going "get the AMD card they are cheaper"
Other Comments
  • 6 Hide
    barto , March 26, 2013 6:04 AM
    Let the battle begin!
  • 7 Hide
    Souv_90 , March 26, 2013 6:10 AM
    anandtech review is out for 650 ti boost...just faster than 7790 and slower than 7850 in every games tested only except bf3 and Shogun

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/6838/nvidia-geforce-gtx-650-ti-boost-review-

    (wonder why tom's review is swaying more in favour of kepler everytime I see)
  • 9 Hide
    EzioAs , March 26, 2013 6:13 AM
    This card pricing seems a little too good that it kinda makes me regret getting the GTX660 just a while ago. Damn it, I hate the Kepler series and their pricing :/ 

    Although I can't say the same about the power consumption and some part in me actually hoped and expected the card would come with a game bundle.
  • 16 Hide
    Memnarchon , March 26, 2013 6:17 AM
    Souv_90anandtech review is out for 650 ti boost...just faster than 7790 and slower than 7850 in every games tested only except bf3 and Shogunhttp://www.anandtech.com/show/6838 [...] st-review-(wonder why tom's review is swaying more in favour of kepler everytime I see)

    Techpowerup said also that 650ti boost is faster than 7850.
    edit: hardwarecanucks / PCPerspective. A lot of sites agree with Tom's, 7850 and 650ti boost are about the same in performance.

    But the point is that is similar to 7850 while its cheaper. Now that's what I wanted to see when I was saying we need better performance for $$$. Now lets see AMD dropping its prices too so we can have a sweat war between them that profits our wallet :D .
  • -4 Hide
    tomfreak , March 26, 2013 6:20 AM
    It looks to me form the chart except the 7900. AMD GCN is are actually far more efficient here. Better compute + better performance/watt. So Nvidia taunting about their 'most efficient GPU' seems got defeated again. I wonder what if AMD make 7900 a 1.5x of 7800.

    I still do not like the idea of Odd memory configuration. 1GB/2GB @ 192bit. The last 512MB from 2GB model is only getting 64bit memory bandwidth. Why cant they offer a a proper 1.5GB version @ middle price $159?

    Tomshardware fail to bench 2GB 7850. I like to see that vs 2GB 650Ti Boost.
  • 2 Hide
    AMDRadeonHD , March 26, 2013 6:27 AM
    it beats the 7790, 192 bit+2gb, so awesome...
  • 3 Hide
    pcperson7 , March 26, 2013 6:40 AM
    Watch out gtx 660!
  • 12 Hide
    Henrik Olsson , March 26, 2013 6:41 AM
    from reviews around the web the GTX 650 ti boost is trading blows with the 7850 very well. i just gotta say it took nvidia awhile to get back into the game after AMD lowerd the pricing of there cards. good to see some competion again insted of just going "get the AMD card they are cheaper"
  • 3 Hide
    de5_Roy , March 26, 2013 6:43 AM
    darn it. i was enjoying reading the review considering i've been waiting to se how this card performs ever since i heard of it. 192bit interface with a cut-down gk106 under $170 and sli - makes gtx 650ti irrelevant and puts a good deal of hurt on the 128bit 7790 in terms of config. i doubt gtx650tiboost can outperform a 7790 in compute tasks but this is a gaming gfx card above all. this seems like a good proposition for budget 1080p gaming, so far.

    now, if amd brings back 7850 1gb, it'd be awesome (i don't buy the 'lack of gddr5 chips' excuse for a second).

    will there be gtx650tiboost sli performance analysis vs 7790 cfx and 7850 1gb cfx? hopefully nvidia has good drivers available because the sub $200 gfx card price war just got heated up.

    edit: imho nvidia is late to the sub $200 gfx card price war. this card shoulda come out instead of gtx 650ti (128bit). amd should be updating with new gcn cards soon while kepler 2.0 seems nowhere in sight. better late(!) than never, i guess..
  • 9 Hide
    CrisisCauser , March 26, 2013 6:43 AM
    The 7850 has a 256-bit bus, not 128-bit. Please fix your chart on page 1.
  • 0 Hide
    zooted , March 26, 2013 6:46 AM
    Nice, I like seeing the battle begin. Just like the batter of 6850/gtx460. I am really looking forward to see what both the 7790 and 650ti boost can do on non-beta drivers.
  • 0 Hide
    FinneousPJ , March 26, 2013 6:59 AM
    I'd say the 7850 is still more worthwhile since it should respond to overclocking better.
  • 6 Hide
    tomfreak , March 26, 2013 7:03 AM
    FinneousPJI'd say the 7850 is still more worthwhile since it should respond to overclocking better.
    it consume less power as well, it give free AAA bundle games. So the value are still better.
  • 0 Hide
    horaciopz , March 26, 2013 7:17 AM
    If it for Bandwidth and memory, still 7850 seems a better buy... I mean, comparing a 1000mhz core clock HD7850 vs a 1000mhz core clock GTX 650ti boots and we will see how the AMD card overcome and as soon as we apply antialising and stuff like that. Also When we overclock memory, the bigger bus width will help a lot on performance. But, we really need about pricing, for 150 bucks this card will have an upper hand against the HD7850 1GB...
  • 3 Hide
    zooted , March 26, 2013 7:19 AM
    I figured amd would release a 7850 ghz addition considering how easily they reach 1ghz+ with out much effort.
  • 0 Hide
    blazorthon , March 26, 2013 7:23 AM
    BigMack70I feel like this has been the general theme of this 6xx/7xxx round between AMD and Nvidia... AMD releases something that's good but fairly conservative, and then Nvidia soon after comes in and just embarrasses them and makes AMD totally change up their pricing structure.I don't really mean that as a knock on AMD's cards/etc, just that I wish AMD would get a little more aggressive with their product launches... it's like they don't expect Nvidia to retaliate and they don't even try to anticipate what's coming.Great to see Nvidia getting more competitive in sub-$200 space where they are typically horrible. Now, if they could just release something to bring competition to the $80-100 space, the consumer will really have a win on their hands... competition at all price points!


    Well, in the $80-100 space, Nvidia at least has GT 640 GDDR5s and probably a few GTX 650s, granted that the GTX 650 Ti's price drop makes them even less relevant.
  • -5 Hide
    Novuake , March 26, 2013 7:25 AM
    This is gonna be a good old graphics battle, its a shame I already own 2 HD7950s. COul have saved some seriosu cash.
  • 4 Hide
    cleeve , March 26, 2013 7:30 AM
    CrisisCauserThe 7850 has a 256-bit bus, not 128-bit. Please fix your chart on page 1.


    Doh! Fixed, thx. :) 
  • 0 Hide
    tuxborg , March 26, 2013 7:32 AM
    What remains of the free market is a wonderful thing.
  • 3 Hide
    blazorthon , March 26, 2013 7:32 AM
    tomfreakIt looks to me form the chart except the 7900. AMD GCN is are actually far more efficient here. Better compute + better performance/watt. So Nvidia taunting about their 'most efficient GPU' seems got defeated again. I wonder what if AMD make 7900 a 1.5x of 7800. I still do not like the idea of Odd memory configuration. 1GB/2GB @ 192bit. The last 512MB from 2GB model is only getting 64bit memory bandwidth. Why cant they offer a a proper 1.5GB version @ middle price $159?Tomshardware fail to bench 2GB 7850. I like to see that vs 2GB 650Ti Boost.


    The memory capacity difference really doesn't matter for this article. The 2GB version of the 7850 doesn't perform any better than the 1GB version, it simply doesn't get slammed in a few VRAM capacity-heavy situations whereas the 7850 1GB does (none of which are in this article anyway).
Display more comments