Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Best SSDs: $110 To $200

Best SSDs For The Money: June 2012
By

Best SSD for ~$110: Performance System Drive

Kingston HyperX 3K (Check Prices)

Kingston HyperX 3K
90 GB
Sequential Read
555 MB/s
Sequential Write510 MB/s
Power Consumption (Active)
2.11 W
Power Consumption (Idle)0.46 W

SandForce-based SSDs come armed with one of three memory interfaces: Toggle-mode DDR, synchronous, and asynchronous. Although controllers are often said to play the biggest part in defining an SSD's performance, the type of flash memory used has an effect, too. In fact, when you compare SandForce-based SSDs, the drives with synchronous memory consisteny perform well and command reasonable price tags. That's why we think that Kingston's 90 GB HyperX 3K is a solid choice.

Best SSDs for ~$115: Performance 120 GB

Mushkin Enhanced Chronos Deluxe (Check Prices)

Mushkin Enhanced Chronos Deluxe
120 GB
Sequential Read
560 MB/s
Sequential Write520 MB/s
Power Consumption (Active)
3 W
Power Consumption (Idle)1 W

As the lowest priced 120 GB Toggle-mode SF-22xx-based SSD, we're recommending Mushkin's 120 GB Enhanced Chronos Deluxe for those who want performance and capacity. As we said, 90 GB is a floor of sorts for getting an operating system and important apps onto an SSD. But 120 GB provides enough space to add personal files and big game installs to the mix.

Best SSDs for ~$145: Performance 128 GB

Samsung 830 - Non Bundle (Check Prices)

Samsung 830
128 GB
Sequential Read
520 MB/s
Sequential Write320 MB/s
Power Consumption (Active)
.15 W
Power Consumption (Idle).08 W

We know that SSDs based on SandForce's DuraClass technology demonstrate different behavior depending on the information with which they're presented. That is to say incompressible data like media-oriented files and actively-encrypted partitions aren't handled as elegantly as more easily compressible files.

In contrast, the behavior of Samsung's controller doesn't change based on the information you feed it, and the 830-series drives are arguably the fastest MLC-based offerings available, generally outpacing Crucial's m4. Interestingly, the 830 and m4 are priced comparably, too, making Samsung's SSD the better deal.

Best SSDs for ~$165: Performance 128 GB

Plextor M3 Pro (Check Prices)

Plextor M3 Pro
128 GB
Sequential Read
535 MB/s
Sequential Write350 MB/s
Power Consumption (Active)
5 W
Power Consumption (Idle)0.1 W

If you're willing to spend a little extra on a 128 GB repository, Plextor's M3 Pro is a great option for enthusiasts moving lots of data around. Thanks to the company's TrueSpeed firmware enhancements, garbage collection helps maintain top-notch sequential performance, which explains why this drive tops our in-house benchmark.

Display all 48 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    mjmjpfaff , June 28, 2012 5:19 AM
    On the "Best SSDs: $200 To $300" page there is a typo in the "Best SSDs for ~$270: Gaming Option 256 GB" option. In the chart it says it is a 240gb SSD but it is a 256gb SSD. I'm sure its just a typo...
  • 1 Hide
    bim27142 , June 28, 2012 5:30 AM
    Is this accurate?

    Samsung 830 240 GB
    Sequential Read 560 MB/s
    Sequential Write 525 MB/s
    Power Consumption (Active) 3 W
    Power Consumption (Idle) 1 W
  • 1 Hide
    hmp_goose , June 28, 2012 5:31 AM
    I never noticed before, but does the Samsung 830 really change power consumption as capacity grows?
  • -5 Hide
    DjEaZy , June 28, 2012 5:33 AM
    ... and... still... my Vertex 3 is strong... by the prices now, i maybe buy a nother one for RAID 0...
  • 8 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , June 28, 2012 5:51 AM
    ^
    bet you cant tell the difference between RAID0 SS's and a single SSD without benchmarking.
  • 2 Hide
    acku , June 28, 2012 6:27 AM
    mjmjpfaffOn the "Best SSDs: $200 To $300" page there is a typo in the "Best SSDs for ~$270: Gaming Option 256 GB" option. In the chart it says it is a 240gb SSD but it is a 256gb SSD. I'm sure its just a typo...


    Fixed! Thanks for being so cool about everything. :) 

    Cheers,
    Andrew Ku
    Tom's Hardware
  • 0 Hide
    Pawessum16 , June 28, 2012 7:00 AM
    I think this is definitely your best article in the "Best SSD's For the Money" series. I can finally agree with the majority of your recommendations, and even though you don't explicitly state it, I feel like you finally took user feedback on reliability into consideration for the different recommendations. i.e. fewer OCZ recommendations, and no ridiculous pedestal recommendations for Intel's ridiculously overpriced ssd's that provide nothing over the likes of Crucial and Samsung.
    Two thumbs up!
  • 3 Hide
    acku , June 28, 2012 7:05 AM
    We'll I always try. Not saying I'm always right. There simply are too many SSD vendors out there. It's hard to cover them all. But I'm glad you like the changes. :) 

    I think for some people the confidence that Intel is going to back your play should something go wrong means a lot. Not saying it's worth the premium, but for some people, it is. That said, I do like the idea of game bundles. I think it's a great way to get more value from an SSD.

    Cheers
    Andrew Ku
    Tom's Hardware
  • 1 Hide
    palladin9479 , June 28, 2012 8:58 AM
    I love my Samsung 830 256GB's. I got one for my main gaming box awhile back, liked its performance and eventually bought a 2nd one for my DV6z notebook.
  • 0 Hide
    erunion , June 28, 2012 9:04 AM
    The product name and link for your $115 drive is in error. The drive is actually the Chronos Deluxe MX.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226318

    Your link shows virtually every Mushkin drive except that one.
  • 0 Hide
    radon_antila , June 28, 2012 9:08 AM
    ackuI think for some people the confidence that Intel is going to back your play should something go wrong means a lot. Not saying it's worth the premium, but for some people, it is.


    This is true for enterprises, certainly. Essentially, if the data is more valuable than the storage, the Intel SSD is worth the premium. For everyone else, the Crucial and Samsung SSDs are better value propositions.
  • 0 Hide
    Onus , June 28, 2012 11:55 AM
    Two points and a question:
    1. Yes, please incorporate reliability into your ratings. I've had 2/4 Sandforce drives I bought fail, so I will choose an alternate.
    2. I like my Samsung 830, although I am not getting its claimed performance. I suspect it is because I'm running an AMD system, even though it's a 990FX. As the article points out, the performance of a SSD beats the snot out of a mechanical HDD.
    Finally, and this article wouldn't be the place to cover it, but I'd like more information on the performance of SRT using a 64GB SSD along with a mainstream (i.e. not "green") HDD. Does such a system generally perform closer to the speed of a SSD, or more like just a fast HDD?
    Thanks.
  • 0 Hide
    pinkfloydminnesota , June 28, 2012 12:10 PM
    Microcenter has ocz 4 gen's for $100 to $120 for the 128 GB size.
  • 1 Hide
    LordConrad , June 28, 2012 2:33 PM
    Why recommend the Mushkin Enhanced Chronos 90GB when you can get the 120GB version for $3 more?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226236
  • 0 Hide
    LordConrad , June 28, 2012 2:50 PM
    jtt283 Yes, please incorporate reliability into your ratings. I've had 2/4 Sandforce drives I bought fail, so I will choose an alternate.

    Reliability is subjective and Track Records are just statistics. I've installed 4 SandForce drives, each in a different computer, and never had a single problem. The computers include one desktop and two laptop PCs and one Mac Mini, all of which continue to work without problems.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , June 28, 2012 2:59 PM
    Geez I just bought a 256G Samsung 830 for $190. Newegg. Cool
  • 1 Hide
    josejones , June 28, 2012 3:18 PM
    There's a distinction between the "Mushkin Enhanced Chronos Deluxe" DX version and the MX version:

    Mushkin vs. Intel SSD
    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/284841-32-mushkin-intel
  • 1 Hide
    Isaiah4110 , June 28, 2012 4:13 PM
    The ~$115 recommendation "Mushkin Enhanced Chronos Deluxe" has some incorrect information. The drive referenced here is actually the "Mushkin Enhanced Chronos MX" (model MKNSSDCR120GB-MX, currently selling for $115 on Newegg). This drive isn't a "Toggle-mode SF-22xx-based SSD", but actually uses "synchronous mode NAND flash" according to Mushkin's website.

    http://www.mushkin.com/Digital-Storage/SSDs.aspx

    The 120GB version (model MKNSSDCR120GB-DX) of the Chronos Deluxe SSD, which actually uses Toggle-mode flash memory, currently sells for $190 on Newegg (and roughly the same everywhere else).
  • 0 Hide
    grody , June 28, 2012 4:20 PM
    OCZ Agility 3 90GB for $55:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227757

    I'm sure most people check newegg anyway, though.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , June 28, 2012 5:12 PM
    With the SSD price drop/war right now, I'm in dilemma of choosing btw Corsair, Kingston and OCZ for 120GB SSD (~$90). Which of these are best for this price point?
Display more comments